top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Peace Out

Whew, where do I begin?...


First, to my Regal Lady Squad,

THANK YOU.

Thank you for supporting me over these past 5 years.

Thank you for sharing this space with me.

Thank you for creating with me.

Thank you for conversing with me.

Thank you for being you.

Thank you for being present.

Thank you for showing up.

Thank You.


When I first started my blog in 2016, I had absolutely no clue what I was doing. The only thing that I knew was that I had a message to share and a story to tell. Since her creation, The Regal Lady has touched on many topics ranging from lifestyle, to beauty, fashion, relationships, and more. But, the one thing that has stayed the same, was her intent to inspire you to live your best authentic life through every post. Whether it was through a caption, a motivational quote, or a quick IG Story, my goal has always been to encourage you to “Be You, Do You, For You.” That if I lived my truest authentic life, I could inspire other women to feel comfortable enough to do the same.

When social media began, things were….different.

I feel like people actually felt comfortable being themselves back then. We weren’t worried about our blurry pics or cR@zy c@pt!0nz, we just wanted to share the authentic moments that we captured. But as time progressed, and money and numbers became a factor in this digital age, social media morphed into false reality that created real world problems. People could now create a persona that may not actually reflect their real lives. For a while, I struggled with being called “The Regal Lady” because I feel that it can have such a “bourgeois” connotation and I’m honestly just a regular girl who enjoys spending time on the couch with her husband and sometimes doing ratchet things with her ratchet friends. Oftentimes I felt like I couldn't show those parts of my life because it didn’t fit into my “brand”. Every now and then I battled with trying to maintain the image of The Regal Lady and just existing as a Regal Lady. By my definition, a “Regal Lady is any woman who is living her best authentic life”. I had to constantly remind myself that in order to empower myself to do just that.


At the beginning of the pandemic, I thought to myself, “Wow, I finally have endless free time to create content and build my community”. But as the world started to shift, so did my conversations and perceptions. And in being a Regal Lady and staying true to who I was, I noticed that I didn’t want to talk about the “blogger” things anymore. It was and still is real shit going on in the world and these are the things that we need to be focused on.


Once censorship and shadow banning started to kick in, I noticed that my content wasn’t being pushed and I wasn’t connecting with my community like I had previously been doing this entire time. This inspired me to take a pause and ask myself “What am I really doing all of this for?”


I remember when I would anxiously track my analytics weekly to create content based around those numbers, and then one day I decided to stop.

I decided that the numbers didn't matter, and that whoever received my message or saw a post was divine timing and it was meant for them.

I decided to post and create whatever and whenever I wanted to, not because I had a content calendar to keep up with or an algorithm to fit into, but because I wanted to share a special moment with the world.

I decided that I wasn’t going to be pressured into making Reels or TikToks in order to get views to make an extra dollar. I am not a slave to these platforms.

I also decided that I wasn’t going to participate in current trends and challenges because that shit looks mad corny to me (like seriously….why are we all doing the same thing?!?!)

I decided that I was going to just go with the flow.


And as I’ve been flowing and growing,

I know that the time has come for The Regal Lady to officially say goodbye.


What these past 5 years of blogging, podcasting, and creating events for my community (shout out to everyone who attended and supported Content CreateHer Con. I am forever grateful.) has shown me, is that I HAVE created the life that I desired and deserved to live. If you’ve been keeping up with me over the years, you know that my favorite Regal Lady Affirmation is “I am creating a life that I desire and deserve to live.” And while I am still creating more life, every intention that I set for The Regal Lady has been fulfilled.


The Regal Lady owes me absolutely nothing.



photography by Vernon Davis

As I close this chapter, I am forever grateful for all of the lessons and blessings that being the creator of The Regal Lady has taught and brought me along the way. And as I step into this next chapter of life, know that I am excited as hell!


To my Regal Lady Squad, you have been the absolute best sisters that I’ve ever met (over the internet lol) and I thank you for all of your support over the years. I wish you nothing but the best in life.


So, cheers to always living life on your terms, to authentically owning, speaking and living in your truth, and to always remembering to be you, do you, for you.


Peace, Love, & Light,


Tasha

The Regal Lady



bottom of page