top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Please have several seats...



While some of us are still trying to get in formation, many are now going for their seat at the table. The ever so outspoken, artistic, free spirited, and creative Solange Knowles dropped her album “ A Seat at the Table ” this past Friday midnight. An album that has been in the works for almost four years could not have been released at a better time.

Normally it takes me a while to even determine if I like an album, but after listening to the first three songs I was hooked….and I LOVE the interludes. The message, the story, the eccentric beats and futuristic vibes from this album makes me feel like I should be listening to it while laid out in my back yard, star gazing at the sky while inhaling and exhaling on some of God’s earthly pleasures. I mean, I reallllly wish I could find the right words to describe this album, but I can’t, because it’s that DOPE!....and I would hate to cheat you out on your own interpretation of her album.


“A Seat at the Table” gives me a sense of spiritual freedom, ambition, bravery and of course black girl magic.

Here are some lyrics from a few of my favorite songs from the album.

Weary

“Be leery bout your place in the world

You're feeling like you're chasing the world

You're leaving not a trace in the world

But you're facing the world”


F.U.B.U.

"Don't clip my wings before I learn to fly

I didn't come back down to Earth to die

All my niggas in the whole wide world

Made this song to make it all y'all's turn

For us, this shit is from us

Get so much from us

Then forget us"


Don't Touch My Hair (my FAVORITE track)

"Don't touch my hair

When it's the feelings I wear

Don't touch my soul

When it's the rhythm I know

Don't touch my crown

They say the vision I've found

Don't touch what's there

When it's the feelings I wear"


How does “A Seat at the Table” make you feel? What are some of your favorite lyrics from the album? If you haven’t done so yet be sure to visit http://solangemusic.com/ and follow her on Twitter and Instagram.

xoxoTheRegalLady

bottom of page