top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Wedding Chronicles



Now that the semester has come to an end and my life has ONE less stressor in it….I can finally BREATHE…..well maybe not a complete inhale exhale cycle….more like a hyperventilated pass me a brown paper bag and an asthma pump type of breath.

Let’s take a peek into my life for a second….

  1. I’m a Bridesmaid

  2. I’m a Maid of Honor

  3. annnnnnnnnd I’m a Bride to be #heputaringonit

Woah...WOah….WOAHHHHH…..How did this happen?!?! All within a year lol...My line sister made me a bridesmaid last year….then helped my fiancé plan my engagement (#bestdayever 🍾) ...which was two weeks after my bestfriend’s engagement who then made me her MOH….Can you say wedding overload!!!


Planning a wedding is probably one of the most happiest stressful feelings in the world....but planning three weddings….please pass me the bottle! Throughout this process thus far I have been able to come up with some tips that I think would be helpful for our readers.



  1. Start planning early!!! By the time my fiancé proposed I already had our colors picked out, bridal party (including HIS groomsmen) selected, and a top choice for venue....#pressed lol. About two weeks after our engagement I started bugging him on selecting a date and picking a venue and setting a budget. Trust me, you don't want to wait until the last minute and your dream venue is booked on your date.

  1. Set a realistic budget and aim lower than that. I am truly having a hard time with using the money that I could put down on a house for my wedding. I mean I know this should be like the best day ever but I’m TRYING to ball on a budget. Remember, it's only ONE day. Would you rather have a dream wedding or a dream marriage. Granted… "if you got it flaunt it"....but the way my student loans are set up…..


  1. Pick your Maid of Honor wisely. This is a MAJOR ROLE! Make sure you have someone responsible and trustworthy holding that position. If the bride is unable to make a decision at any given moment, the maid of honor should be able make that call. If you choose the right woman, then she should know you well enough to pick what you would want. As the bride, you'll already be overwhelmed. Do not pick a lazy maid of honor just because she held your hair back that one time you drank too much.


  1. Bridesmaids. Where do I begin. First, do NOT feel pressured to add certain people in your wedding. This is YOUR day....point, blank, period. Second, know your bridesmaids strengths and weaknesses. If you have a friend who is awful at using a glue gun, don’t put her in charge of making centerpieces or party favors. Third, there are FINANCIAL responsibilities attached with being a bridesmaid...please, count your coins before agreeing.


  1. Guestlist. Tricky, tricky, tricky. Just know that everybody and their great grandma does not need to be invited to your wedding. Me, personally, I made my guestlist about a year and a half before I got engaged (I told ya’ll I was pressed) But what that helped me discover was people who I lost touch with or those "convenient friends". For example, if I haven’t heard from you in between the day I created that list and the “congrats girl” text….count yourself out of a seat. #noshade. Also, classmates and coworkers...and your parents’ friends...ehh debatable. Being cool is one thing, but paying $90 for you to eat is another. Find cost effective and respectful ways to incorporate your companions in your big day. You wouldn’t expect someone to bring you a gift without being invited to the celebration.....


  1. Theme. Pick it and commit to it! Often times couples fall in love with a theme, but don’t fully commit to it. Your theme should be visible in your invitations, favors, and most importantly bridal shower and wedding reception decorations. Don't let it stress you out....have fun with it...and if your creative juices are slacking...there's always Pinterest.


  1. Vendors. These people are going to be your best friends. Your band, DJ, photographer, caterer etc. Be as clear and concise as to what you want done. Think of what you want your pictures to look like and where you plan to take them. Also, have your first dance song prepared as well as a list of your favorite line dances.


  1. Beauty Regime. Every bride wants to look her very best on her special day. Start early! If you want to sign up for a bridal boot camp or even Kanye’s Workout Plan do it now. This is where I’m slacking lol I’m trying to be a size 6 with a size 10 booty by my wedding. Braces, skin care, diet, etc, find out what works for your body now. And if you don’t already have your glam squad start your consultations ASAP. Utilize social media, word of mouth, and Styleseat.com


  1. Thank You's. Nothing is worse than an ungrateful newlywed couple. Make sure you have PERSONALIZED thank you cards for your bridal shower and wedding. A text message does NOT count as an appropriate thank you. Party favors are also a cool way to send your guests off with tokens of love and memories from your special occasion. Lastly, don’t forget to treat your bridal party to something special. Bridesmaids need love too.


  1. Honeymoon. Now is the time for the lovinnnnn. Create a list of honeymoon locations and activities that you would like to do with your honey. Keep in mind that you will probably get a good amount of money as gifts from your wedding (depending on that guest list lol) which can be your spending money for your trip.


So if you’re experiencing the same roles as me or plan to have those roles soon….I hope that my wedding tips are helpful. Feel free to leave more suggestions for our brides/MOH/bridesmaids to be readers.💋

TheRegalLady xoxo


bottom of page