top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Girl + Hair Review

If you know anything about me, you know that I love wearing protective styles. When I first did the big chop in 2014, I was oblivious as to what I was doing with this new crown of mine. I went from broken combs to flat couch hair almost every day. (I’m still trying to perfect my wash-n-gos) I used to get so frustrated and would want to cut my hair all off times. Learning to manage and embrace your natural coils, kinks, and curls after years of using perms is truly a journey. [Check out My Nappily Ever After]


As I educated myself more on natural hair, I learned that there were many benefits of wearing protective styles. For one, it saves time and energy! With most protective styles you don’t have to worry about doing any extra twisting or braiding at night. #lifesaver

And with less daily manipulation of your hair, you’re also able to grow it longer and stronger.

Now, while you can keep your hair tucked away for several weeks, it’s also very important to keep your natural hair healthy while underneath your protective styles. This is when Girl + Hair comes in. Founded by Dr. Camille Verovic, this beauty company is the first of its kind, creating products for an “Under Haircare System”.


My first time using Girl + Hair was earlier this year when I won a bundle set from a giveaway on Instagram. I received their CLEANSE+ Ultra Moisturizing Sulfate Free Shampoo , NOURISH+ Nourishing Leave-In Conditioner, and RESTORE+ Restoring Hair Treatment Balm. My favorite of the three is the shampoo. I love how I can feel the tea tree oil penetrate my scalp. Also, if I have any product build-up or dandruff on my scalp, I can visibly see a difference after cleansing it with their shampoo. I also like how the Restoring Hair Treatment Balm keeps my scalp moisturized daily.




Check out my review on Girl + Hair to see how easy you can take care of your natural hair while wearing a protective style!




bottom of page