top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Hair Product Review


Over the last five month’s I have been using Shea Moisture’s Manuka Honey and Mafura Oil line of products….and I must say, my hair loves it!

The three products from this line that I’ve faithfully been using are the shampoo, the conditioner, and the hair masque. The key ingredients in these products are African Rock Fig, Manuka Honey, Mafura Oil. Not only does it make my curls pop almost immediately, but the smell is amazing. I’ve literally had naturals stop me in public just to ask me what was in my hair because it smelled good haha. Gotta love Naturalistas!


The shampoo has a great lather which is something that a lot of natural hair care products lack, and a little goes a along way. It's "sulfate-free and cleanses while infusing hair with intense moisture and shine-enhancing nutrients". The conditioner is conveniently stored inside of a pump bottle, which makes it very easy to condition parts of your hair without constantly having to squeeze the bottle making a mess. Lastly, the masque is great for deep conditioning and adding more moisture to your hair.

Since I’ve been flourishing with my protective styles so much lately, I’ve created my own little routine with these products. First, I shampoo my hair twice. The first shampoo I normally focus on cleansing the perimeter of my head. After rinsing that out, I’ll squeeze some shampoo into the center of my head and reallllly dig in there! lol Most of my dryness and thickness is in the crown of my head, so I’m certain to scrub a lot in that area. I then add a little more shampoo to my hands and run my fingers all throughout my head.


After rinsing out the shampoo, I part my hair into about 4 to 6 sections using a wide tooth comb to detangle my hair as I am applying the conditioner. The conditioner is amazing and honestly by the time that I’m done shampooing, my hair is soft enough where I don’t have a lot of knots to untangle. I can literally part my hair with my fingers after using the shampoo, and I have 4c hair! After conditioning the sectioned hair, I then place a plastic cap on to my head for about 15-20 mins.


If I’m not getting a protective style or this is a bi-weekly wash then I might stop here. However, if I know that my hair will be put away for 3+ weeks, I also deep condition after rinsing out the regular conditioner.

Most recently, I’ve added Jamaican Black Castor Oil to Shea Moisture’s Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Masque. Some benefits of JBCO are: it moistures hair, prevents hair breakage, and improves overall hair strength. After coating my hair with the mixture, I place a deep conditioning/ heating cap on my head overnight. When I'm finally ready to wash off the masque, I use cold water. Using cold water helps to lock in the moisture. Once all of the product is gone from my hair I’m left with super soft and bouncy coils.


Trust me Regal Ladies, this line is definitely a must try! For the price and size ($11.99 - $13.99), you can't beat that!

Check out my video below to see how I use these products! Are you Shea Moisture fan? Have you tried these products before?


bottom of page