top of page
  • Tasha Butler

Weekend Getaway: Atlanta


Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending Blavity-21Ninety's Summit21 event. This two day workshop provided business lessons and networking opportunities for millennial women of color. While my line sister and I worked hard during the day, we played harder during the night.

I mean....we were in Atlanta, who wouldn't want to be out and about.

Here are our two favorite Black Owned restaurants that we visited while there.





367 Edgewood Ave SE, Atlanta, GA 30312

Our first stop was K. Michelle's Puffs & Petals Lounge. Although the restaurant was wayy smaller than what I expected, the service, food, and decor made up for it. For starters, I want my future daughter's room to look like K. Michelle's backsplash! That pink rose wall was sooooo cute!!!! Actually, the entire restaurant was beautiful and full of elegance...from the crystal chandeliers, to the fresh red roses, to the 90's R &B playing in the back ground. I can tell that K. Michelle put a lot of thought into the intricate details of this restaurant.

The menu provided us with two options, a $35 or a $45 3 meal course. I ordered their kale caesar salad (which was probably the best caesar salad that I've ever had), parmesan garlic wings (which were fried hard, just how I like it), and this bomb banana pudding cheesecake. Needless to say, I was not disappointed and will definitely return during my next ATL visit.



1937 Piedmont Circle Atlanta, GA 30324

Sunday we finished our trip with brunch at Atlantis. I looooooved this place! Our waitress Dominique was so sweet and kept our mimosa glasses full. The menu had a ton of seafood options which made me extremely happy and the chef was from NOLA so you know our plates were popping lol. I ordered a fried lobster tail with seafood mac & cheese, and my line sister ordered their special which was a crab stuffed lobster and shrimp. Both were amazing. I mean we were scraping our plates just to make sure we ate every drop of our food. They also had hookah which was a plus. The perfect turn up for this twenty something going on 80 millennial lol.

I'll be visiting Atlanta again in September and can't wait to revisit these places with my husband and am excited to add more restaurants to this list. Let me know what your favorite Atlanta restaurant is? Maybe I'll stop by to grab some grub.


 

Guess who’s back…..back again! Tasha’s back….tell a friend hahaha. I am back in the ATL and am loving it. I can totally see myself moving here one day. Last night my husband and I ventured to Old Lady Gang, and let me tell youuuuu! We were beyond impressed. I was nervous to just “pop up” because we didn’t have reservations, but luckily we only had a 5 minute wait to be seated. It took us a while to place our order because as we looked over the menu, we literally wanted to order everything! We finally settled, and ordered two appetizers and two meals and decided to split everything.

Our appetizer consisted of their OLG Signature wings and and catfish. The wings are fried and then grilled, and the spicy sauce on them is amazing! Now as for our meal….Kandi’s Honey Glazed Blackened Salmon is a must have! So tender, juicy, and well seasoned. We also ordered Aunt Bertha’s Fried Chicken, and the mac and cheese and collard greens were to die for! All of the food prepared tasted like you were at Big Momma’s house for Sunday dinner. So the next time that you’re in Atlanta, be sure to visit Old Lady Gang. You won’t be disappointed.




bottom of page